Good News

Did you know that God wants to create a family for Himself? And did you know that God wants all of us – you and me and everyone in this room and everyone else in the whole world to be part of His family?

The problem is, we can’t be his family. Because we do things that are wrong that keep us out of God’s family. Things God doesn’t like. Things God can’t have in His house or among His family members. The Bible calls those things sin. And the punishment for sin is severe. The punishment is that we have to be apart from God for all of eternity. He doesn’t want that! We shouldn’t want that, either!

But the Good News – God’s own message to us – is that He loved us so much that He sent His Son, Jesus, to be one of us, live as one of us, and then take the punishment for our sin for us by dying on a cross. If we had done that, we would be dead forever – separated from God for all of eternity. But not Jesus. Jesus was innocent – He never sinned! After three days, Jesus rose from the dead and now He lives. And because He lives, our debt – our punishment for all of the wrong things we do – is paid. God can declare us righteous and whole and complete.

Jesus is never going to die again. And he wants us to be with Him when this life is over and we die here. We can do that if we believe that Jesus has died for us and our own personal sins. AND if we repent. Repent means to turn away from something and not do it anymore. We have to repent from our sins. We turn away from them and do our best – and God promises to help us here – to never do them again.

We call this being saved. And God wants you to be saved. And He wants me to be saved. I was saved a long time ago – at least to you and me – way back in 1987. I knew then that I did wrong things, I needed God to forgive me (which He promises He will do for anyone who asks). So I asked Him to. And you know what? He did! I’m forgiven. And I trust that I’m forgiven because of what Jesus did for me, and what He did for you.

Because I’m forgiven, I know that I will get to spend eternity with God in heaven and the new creation.

If any of you know that you need to be saved, then maybe you can write me (daryl “underscore” j “underscore” white AT yahoo DOT com) and talk to me about it. I’d love to journey that road together with you!

Leave a Reply

