God’s wrath

I have taken lately to read Dr. Albert Mohler’s blog. The most recent blog entry had a line that really intrigued me. The entry is about a recent study by a Baylor University professor on the American populations view of God. The researcher identifies four views of God. Dr. Mohler remarks,

This appears to be the major interest of this study — how are different visions of God connected to specific social and political behaviors….Nevertheless, I must look at this survey as a Christian theologian….Biblical Christianity cannot choose between a God of wrath and a God of love. The one true God is both loving and holy, and God’s wrath is a function of his holiness.

The emphasis on the last line is my own. I have to say that I disagree with Dr. Mohler here. Well, partially at least. I believe that God’s wrath is a function of who God is, not one part of who he is. God’s wrath is a function of BOTH his love and his holiness. God’s wrath against Israel in the Old Testament or Sodom and Gomorrah or sinners in general is an action of his holiness, yes, but it is also an action of his love. Wrath is a perfect response of both a loving God and a holy God to people who have sinned against him.

God’s love does not shrivel away and weep when his holiness takes over. That is not how God works. He is perfect in all things, so when God is wrathful, it is a perfect expression of all of his attributes – including his holiness and his love.

4 thoughts on “God’s wrath

  1. I could write a book on things I disagree with Dr. Mohler on. I am sure his holiness/wrath view helped him justify in his mind the many people’s career’s and callings he destroyed at Southern.

    I welcome anyone who will take that sanctimounious blowhard to task.

  2. While I too have disagreements with Dr. Mohler (and the other side, like http://www.pomomusings.com), dialogue can only begin and continue by listening and engaging with all sides. I do not think so lowly of Dr. Mohler or so highly of myself to think that there is nothing that I can learn by listening to him or allowing him his own opinion.

  3. I agree with your assertion about dialogue, but it requires an element of humility and a willingness for exchange, something Dr. Mohler has never demonstrated. I have listened and found him to not very interested in understanding but rather pontificating.

    I have read plenty of Dr. Mohler (if you were implying that I haven’t) to know that I can get similar perspectives as his with a much more generous attitude. His actions have diminished his crediblity in my opinion. I prefer to listen and learn from people I respect regardless of whether I agree with them.

    I am not enamored with degrees or positions, I am engaged more by Christlike living (not that I do it much). That approach is far more attractive to me and such living will always gain a hearing in my book regardless of position.

  4. I was not trying to make any implications on your level of knowledge of Dr. Mohler. Frankly, this particular post is, I believe, the most I have ever read by him. All of the rest I know of him is by pure hearsay. I guess what I would say is that I prefer to learn from people whatever I can learn from them – whether I respect them or agree with them or not. We each have our own life experiences that give us each a unique perspective – you, me, and Dr. Mohler included. And because they are each unique, we all contribute to the story of God and his working in the world. While you may be able to get similar perspectives from others with what you call a more generous attitude, the grand story is diminished when you leave out Dr. Mohler (or any of the others, for that matter). Whether or not you like the looks of the story does not matter. It is the story.
    And position may not matter to you or me, but it does matter to a lot of people. And I think that is enough reason to know what the voice is saying – however harsh it may sound.

Leave a Reply

